So, off to Southampton I went with my mum, on the understanding that if I found nothing at all to spend my Boots vouchers on, she would take them off my hands at a preferential rate.

Faced with aisles full of face cream and toothpaste, tweezers and corn plasters, my heart sank. I was about to give up and leave, when Mum pointed out that there was another floor downstairs. Tucked away at the back of it was a record counter. Expecting the worst (Perry Como or similar), I approached the racks. Almost immediately I found this:

A fantastic RCA twofer from 1981 comprising Hunky Dory and Ziggy StardustDavid Bowie’s Rock Galaxy. Franc had played me some Bowie – ChangesOneBowie. Admittedly it didn’t look like this one but it had some of the same tracks on it. Rock Galaxy was a bargain double album. Reasoning that this was probably the find of the century in a  Boots record rack and eager to be rid of the tokens, I plumped for it.

In the time between listening to Metamatic for the first time and Xmas, John Foxx had moved on. His sound was becoming more organic, his image softer. According to the sleeve notes to his collection, Modern Art,he had grown sick of London and wanted to move to a quiet place. He went to Italy and began working on a new album.

I was just about to hand over the tokens to the cashier, when I spotted a single called Miles Away...

