This is the fifth collaboration between Richard from CK Ponderings and I and for this one the theme was Lost and Found and the only restriction was that the image had to be in black and white…

Untitled, 2012 by Richard Cooper-Knight

(fig. 1)

Slip Away, 2012 by Richard Guest

(fig. 2)

Richard Cooper-Knight:

It took a while for me to get my head around this fortnight’s topic, if I’m honest. There were plenty of routes to take with the subject of Lost & Found, and I played around with a few of them. Sadly, though, marrying this up with a black and white shot proved more difficult – a lot of the images I was thinking of only really worked in colour, and so, in the end, I plumped for a fairly obvious take on the subject. For some reason I have a tendency to hoard keys. I have a draw full of them – from suitcase padlocks, to front door keys of former houses, shed keys to ones for office filing cabinets (which, I hasten to say, are no longer needed by the companies!). I’m not a hoarder by nature, but you never know when you’re going to need a key and, you can guarantee that a day or two after you throw one away you will need it! Thankfully, I’ve never lost my keys (touch wood), but if there’s one you need to find, you know where to find it!

Richard Guest:

As usual, when I’ve set the brief, I wondered why I’d made it so hard. As usual, I spent a week with my mind going completely blank whenever I tried to think of what to do. And as usual, as soon as I ignored the brief completely I got my shot very quickly (I could never work in advertising). OK, with this one you have to stretch your imagination (almost to breaking point) to see how it fits the brief. And I’m too embarassed to try and explain it.

Slip Away is the third track on David Bowie’s 2002 album, Heathen.

