Slaughterhouse-Five, 2012

Slaughterhouse 5 was Kurt Vonnegut’s sixth novel. It was published in 1969. According to Wikipedia it:”is a satirical novel by Kurt Vonnegut about the World War II experiences and journeys through time of a soldier called Billy Pilgrim.”

As a teenager, I was a big fan of Kurt Vonnegut and read as many of his books as I could get my hands on. Slaughterhouse-Five is generally considered a classic/ influential work and often features in newspaper’s top ten SF book lists.  The 1972 film adaptation won the Jury Prize at Cannes in it’s year of release.

I’d also recommend Cat’s Cradle is another good example of his SF.

* * *

For the next fortnight I will be naming my posts and photographs after Science Fiction novels.

As always thanks to John Pindar and Deanne who set this whole titling thing in motion. And to my collaborator, Glastonbury-appreciator, and all-round cool dude, Richard over at CK Ponderings, who is naming his photographs after Pet Shop Boys songs.

