I, Robot, 2012

I, Robot is a collection of nine short stories by Isaac Asimov (bah, I’ve done it again – it’s not a novel, but the title is apt so…), published in 1950. Again there is a framing device – a Dr. Susan Calvin is relating the stories to a 21st Century reporter (who is also the narrator). The stories are concerned with robot/ human relations and the morality surrounding their various interactions. The book introduced Asimov’s Three Laws of Robotics, which are:

  1. A robot may not injure a human being or, through inaction, allow a human being to come to harm.
  2. A robot must obey the orders given to it by human beings, except where such orders would conflict with the First Law.
  3. A robot must protect its own existence as long as such protection does not conflict with the First or Second Laws.
  4. No petting.

Asimov was a big hit when I was a kid, but I never got into him – he always seemed a bit too serious and techy. Moorcock was where it was at for me – the people who were into him wore army greatcoats and had long hair. So, yet again, I can’t recommend this one. Can anyone else?

* * *

For the next fortnight I will be naming my posts and photographs after Science Fiction novels (and short story collections).

As always thanks to John Pindar and Deanne who set this whole titling thing in motion. And to my collaborator and all-round cool dude, Richard over at CK Ponderings, who is no longer naming his photographs after Pet Shop Boys songs.

I would also like to recommend you visit Theodora Brack’s blog, People, Places and Bling, because it’s fantastic and for her suggestion that we start a book club based on these posts. And you have to see Cheryl Moore’s Unbound Boxes Limping Gods for no other reason than it is unique and brilliant.

