Millenium People (for and of Ivor), 2012

There are lots of things I love about blogging, but spotting stylish and interesting people in the street is one of my favourite aspects. Ivor and I were both in a hurry that morning, but he still had time to stop and pose for a photograph, for which I’m really grateful. For me this is a genius combination of hat, suit, tie and shirt – extremely stylish! Thanks, Ivor!

OK, so it’s Ballard night here at The Future etc. Millenium People was J.G. Ballard’s penultimate novel. It was published in 2003. Here’s the plot summary from Wikipedia: “When a bomb explodes on a baggage carousel at Heathrow Airport, killing his ex-wife, David Markham tries to unravel the mystery surrounding her seemingly pointless death. But with unresolved questions about himself, his job, and his loving but adulterous wife, he soon finds himself immersed in the deeper waters of middle class revolution.” That’s about the size of it – it even includes instructions for making a poison gas weapon out of a toilet.

* * *

For the time being I’m  naming my posts and photographs after Science Fiction novels (and on this occasion short story collections).

As always thanks to John Pindar and Deanne who set this whole titling thing in motion. And to my collaborator and all-round cool dude, Richard over at CK Ponderings. Also, if you’re interested in learning a little more about J.G. Ballard, Bill Chance has written a great review of The Collected Short Stories here.

I also highly recommend for your delectation and delight, Theodora Brack’s blog, People, Places and Bling, and Cheryl Moore’s Unbound Boxes Limping Gods.

