The Stars My Destination (I), 2012

The Stars My Destination (II), 2012

The Stars My Destination (III), 2012

The Stars My Destination (IV), 2012

The Stars My Destination (V), 2012

The Stars My Destinationis a novel by Alfred Bester, published in 1956. I haven’t read this one, but…it apparently contains “many of the staples of the later cyberpunk movement, for instance the megacorporations as powerful as governments, a dark overall vision of the future and the cybernetic enhancement of the body. Bester’s unique addition to this mix is the concept that human beings could learn to teleport, or “jaunte” from point to point.” Thank you Wikipedia. There’s more on the book here. I have read Bester’s The Demolished Man, and can recommend it as a ripping good read.

* * *

For the next “fortnight” I will be naming my posts and photographs after Science Fiction novels.

As always thanks to John Pindar and Deanne who set this whole titling thing in motion. And to my collaborator and all-round cool dude, Richard over at CK Ponderings, who is naming his photographs after Dr. Who serials – some great work over there already.

I also recommend you visit Theodora Brack’s blog, People, Places and Bling, and Cheryl Moore’s Unbound Boxes Limping Gods post haste, because they’re both brilliant.

