The Nightingale’s Song, 2012

The Nightingale’s Song is a 1929 collage by Oskar Schlemmer. It’s entirely abstract, with no suggestion of figuration and, as such, is not representative of what Schlemmer is famous for. The Nightingale’s Song features coloured rectangles arranged on a black background. They are suggestive of architecture (at night) in their arrangement. Sadly, I can’t find a reproduction of the collage online. If anyone can, I’d be grateful for a link.

Schlemmer’s most famous and reproduced works are paintings featuring abstracted human figures, and costume designs for the Triadic Ballet. He also designed the logo for the Bauhaus where he taught in the 1920s.

* * *

Without putting a time limit on it (because I know I won’t stick to it), I’m going to do a few posts (and photographs), with titles taken from Jean-Luc Daval’s History of Abstract Painting.

As usual, thanks to John Pindar and Deanne who set this whole titling thing in motion. And to my collaborator Richard over at CK Ponderings with whom I have completed eight collaborations. The latest can be seen on Richard’s blog.

