Anthropometry from the Blue Period (I), 2012

Anthropometry from the Blue Period (II), 2012

Anthropometry from the Blue Period (III), 2012

Anthropometry from the Blue Period (IV), 2012

Anthropometry from the Blue Period (V), 2012

Yves Klein produced Anthropometry from the Blue Period in 1960.

Around about that time he had this to say: “It is not enough to say or to write, I have gone beyond the concerns of art. You must have done it. For me, painting is no longer a function of the eye; it is a function of the only thing about ourselves that does not belong to us: our life.”

And Jean-Luc Daval adds: “The Anthropometries (prints made from the bodies of women covered in blue paint) were the means of emphasising the gulf between the work of art, in this case the monochrome, and life itself.”

You can see a reproduction of the work here.

* * *

My current posts (and photographs), bear titles taken from Jean-Luc Daval’s History of Abstract Painting.

Thanks to John Pindar and Deanne who helped me onto the path of titling my works. And to my collaborator Richard over at CK Ponderings with whom I have completed eight collaborations. Number nine is imminent!

