The Light of Day, 2012

This was taken somewhere in London, UK.

The Light of Day is a novel by Graham Swift. It followed his 1996 Booker Prize winning, Last Orders. The Light of Day was published in 2003.

The copy we’ve got is an uncorrected proof. I’m not sure where it came from, and I’ve never attempted to read it; I’m not sure why. Nikki hasn’t read it either, and there’s no entry for it on Wikipedia, so I can’t tell you much about it.

Here’s the first paragraph:

“Something’s come over you.” That’s what Rita said, over two years ago now, and now she knows it wasn’t just a thing of the moment. Something happens. We cross a line, we open a door we never knew was there. It might never have happened, we might never have known. Most of life, maybe, is only time served.

In our house, the book can be found: dining room, left-hand bookshelves, third shelf down.

* * *

Thanks to John and Deanne, who got me titling. Extra thanks to Deanne for  inspiring elements of these posts, and I strongly advise you to check out her blog. Ta very much Terry for sending me to the bookshelf in search of ideas, and to Richard at CK Ponderings for being a cool collaborator. Our latest was published last Sunday on Richard’s blog. Please check it out!

