This is the nineteenth collaboration between Richard from CK Ponderings and I. It was Richard’s turn to set the theme. Hope you like the results…

Richard Cooper-Knight:

Dreaming: Liberation

Dreaming: Liberation

As Richard and I progress with these collaborations, ideas for the photos seem to become more and more of a challenge. This one was no exception, and, as I chose the theme, it’s all my fault! In the end, inspiration came from a variety of sources: Richard’s effort in the last collaboration, a second shot I have seen in somebody else’s blog recently (apologies, dear blogger, but I cannot remember which site it was on!), and a memory of the cover for a Pet Shop Boys single from the 90s.

It took a while to set up – light backgrounds are not forthcoming Chez CKPonderings, and work means I am still driving to and from the office in darkness – but after several attempts, I’m fairly pleased with the result (although, as always, I am sure I could have done better)!

Richard Guest:

The Dreaming, 2013

The Dreaming

As Richard says, he set a stinker this time and I wasted many hours attempting to stage a photograph that involved myself, a bed, a flash of light and (lots of) birds in flight – it was supposed to be a light-hearted take on the idea of visualising dreams, a joke, a throwaway. But the birds just would not fly the way I wanted them to. And I couldn’t get myself in a convincing position in the bed. So, with very little time left, I went for a walk to clear my head and there in the street, as I have done with many others, I found my shot.

The Dreaming is an album by Kate Bush. It was released in 1982.

Here are some of my favourite tracks from the album: There Goes A TennerSat In Your Lap and the title track, (which has to be seen to be believed) all with official videos, courtesy Youtube.

