Entitled (I) (Dining room, left-hand bookshelves, fourth shelf down), 2013

Entitled is the B Side to The Fall’s 1986 single, Hey! Luciani. It’s an uncharacteristically pretty song, full of good humour and it has a nice bounce to it.

Anyway, I thought it was about time I explained the how and the why of my titling system…But when I sat down to write about it I was overwhelmed by a sense of deep and profound boredom. An ennui that was so pervasive I felt it in my very marrow. I couldn’t go on.

And then I got to thinking about The Future Is Papier Mâché in general and the way I post.

SONY DSCEntitled (II), 2012

For a while now I’ve been posting intros to the books and CDs on our bookshelves and when I asked myself why, there seemed to be no good answer*, so that form of post will no longer appear (freeing me to take titles from anywhere and everywhere, and write about other stuff).

SONY DSCEntitled (III) (for (and after works by) Laura Barbuto), 2013

* * *

* except that it was a very long-winded way of explaining the sources of my titles.

* * *

Thanks to the usual suspects (John, Deanne and Terry (who no longer uses words in the titles of his works), for title shenanigans and Richard at CK Ponderings for being a super-cool collaborator. Our latest collaboration will appear tomorrow on Richard’s blog.

* * *

Bye Bye Bookshelves, 2013

I’ll go on…

