This is my 24th collaboration with Richard. We’ve been doing this for nearly a year! And what a blast it’s been! My idea was to celebrate our continuing collaboration by representing other, (slightly more famous) duos…

Richard Cooper-Knight:

Cannon, 2013

Ball, 2013

Richard set a nice challenge this time round, one we could both really get our teeth into. For me the biggest hardest part was narrowing it down to which duo I wanted to immortalise. Once I’d gotten past failed attempts to visualise Neil & Chris (Pet Shop Boys), Andy & Vince (Erasure) and Ant & Dec, my other half suggested another duo and it all fell into place.

Tommy Cannon & Bobby Ball – for anyone a) not from these shores and b) under the age of 35 – were an end-of-the-pier comedy duo in the 1970s/1980s. They were never of the same calibre as Morecambe & Wise, but sat nicely alongside the likes of Little & Large (oh, bugger, I should have gone for them!!) for cheeky entertainment. They are still around today, although Bobby is the more visible half of the duo, with onscreen acting roles in comedy shows such as Not Going Out.

I had a work meeting in London and, while in the city, wandered along to Cannon Street Station. (To be honest, having only seen it from the river before, I was a little disappointed by the new exterior, but it was raining and I had about 15 minutes before my meeting started.) The ball seemed fairly easy to go for, but I wanted to try something different and, with a darkened room and a torch, played around with some long-exposure shots.

If I am honest, I am not wholly convinced that the two images work well as a pairing, but they fit the titles, and thus Richard’s theme. Enjoy!

Richard Guest:

Holmes and Watson #1, 2013

Holmes and Watson #2, 2013

I went through a similar process. What I really wanted to do was portray Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards of Chic, but my aesthetic sensibility seems not to lend itself to the effervescent and upbeat! So much time was wasted (you wouldn’t believe how many photographs of baubles, fairy lights and rhythmic looking structures I have now). Then in a lurch toward the high-brow I decided to attempt Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath. Ha, ha, ha! (I wasn’t laughing at the time).

On Friday I suddenly remembered famous crime fighting duos and, having dispensed with Cagney and Lacey (too soapy), Starskey and Hutch (too 70s) and Morse and Lewis (too dull), I settled on Sherlock Holmes and Dr. John H. Watson as a kind of touchstone for what came after.

