Street Portrait (for and of Rick Wakeman), 2013

Well, I was on Great Queen Street just about to cross the road when I spotted a photo shoot going on outside the very grand front doors to the Freemason’s Hall. There under the glare of a studio light stood Rick Wakeman. So I waited until he had finished the shoot then legged it after him and asked for a shot. He was incredibly nice about it and said I could as long as it was only one, because his lunch was getting cold. Thanks very much, Rick! Hope you like your picture.

I’ve joked in the past about taking the same pictures over and over again. And I have photographed Rick before, but that was more of a sneaky, candid shot. You can see it here.

Rick Wakeman has had a stellar career in music and entertainment. He was the keyboard player in the best incarnation of the band Yes, he played piano on David Bowie’s Hunky Dory and has worked with Elton John, Cat Stevens, T. Rex and Black Sabbath to name a few. Before joining Yes, he was a member of The Strawbs. Rick Wakeman has produced in excess of 100 solo albums, and his album The Myths and Legends of King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table (1975) was performed on ice at Wembley Arena. You can read more about Rick here.

* * *

OK, so I had a fortnight break from posting (thank you all for your wonderful comments! They are very much appreciated), and now I’ve caught a stinker of a cold, which has slowed everything down, so I’m probably not going to be around for at least another week (promise I’m not fishing for nice comments). See you in a bit…

* * *

If you want to see all the street portraits to date in one place, go here: http://tfipmremix.wordpress.com/2012/12/03/london-faces-remix/ – it’s not at all up-to-date I’m afraid.

