Street Portrait (for and of Kenichiro), 2013

I was in Covent Garden, when I spotted a man asking people if he could photograph them. Naturally, I was intrigued – it seemed odd that there were two of us doing exactly the same thing at the same time in the same place (although Neal Street is often crawling with street photographers). So, I watched him for a while to see what his technique was. I took a couple of shots of him in action. And then I realised how cool he was and how much I liked his look. So I waited until he had finished his shoot and pounced. He thought it was hilarious when I asked him if I could take his portrait. But he agreed! And I’m really glad he did! Kenichiro explained that he was on assignment for a Japanese fashion magazine to take shots of stylish Londoners. Thanks very much for letting me take the shots, Kenichiro! Hope you like your picture.

* * *

This post is dedicated to Vesna Davies – bon chance!

* * *

Richard, my cool collaborator and I have just completed our twenty-fifth collaboration and he’s posting a raft of great, atmospheric shots from a trip to Cuba. Here!

* * *

I’ve just opened an Etsy shop called City Stories. You can visit it here.

