Street Portrait (for and of Damon Albarn), 2013

Today, I was kicking around trying to figure out a direction to take this blog in next. And I spent more time than usual walking, and observing rather than shooting. I’d just zoned out on the corner of a street (I can’t remember the name of), when I spotted Damon Albarn. I asked him for a shot, and he was really nice about it. I really dig his shirt, and the warmth of his smile. And his incredible music* Thanks very much, Damon! Hope you like your picture.

*Damon Albarn is primarily known as the front man and main songwriter in the group, Blur, and the co-creator of the “virtual band”, Gorillaz. In 2007 he fronted an unnamed band that released the album, The Good, The Bad & The Queen. He is also a record producer, actor (Face (1997)), and Opera composer (Doctor Dee and Monkey: Journey To The West).

I saw Blur on the Parklife tour. They were brilliant.

 

