Street Portrait (for and of Michael Gambon), 2013

Friday was an interesting one. Bad, dreary, energy-less shots all morning and I’m moping past theatres, cafes and hotels and then I spot Michael Gambon. And the day changes. Michael was really nice about me taking this. I loved the way he was dressed and the directness of his gaze. Thanks very much for letting me take your picture, Michael! I hope you like it.

The shot’s presented as a crop and in the original form, because I couldn’t decide which I liked best.

For those of you who are not familiar with Michael Gambon’s work, he has appeared on stage, on TV and in films since 1958. He’s had an extraordinary career, and you can read more about it here. If he’d stopped after The Singing Detective (1986), I’d have been a lifelong fan, but he just keeps doing amazing work and keeps cropping up in unexpected places. I loved him in The Cook, the Thief, His Wife & Her Lover (1989) (Nasty, very nasty), Gosford Park (2001) (petulant, nasty, but strangely sympathetic) and The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou (2004) (hilarious) to name a few.  Younger viewers will know him as Albus Dumbledore from the Harry Potter films. He’s even been in Doctor Who. Faultless, ace, menacing and brilliant!

Michael Gambon, 2013

* * *

This post is dedicated to Carla and Megan for making me laugh.

* * *

This will be my last post for a while. I want to do some reading and have a think. I’ll be back in time for my next collaboration with ace collaborator, Richard, if not before.

Now! Off to find my mojo…

