This is the thirtieth collaboration between Richard from CK Ponderings and I. It was my turn to set the theme. And to celebrate, I suggested we go back to how we collaborated for the first time – a theme interpreted any way we liked, no restrictions, one image…hope you like the results…

Richard Cooper-Knight:

Another World, 2013

Another World, 2013

A nice theme from Richard this time around, and, when he let me know what it was, I had an idea that I would find the image I was looking for during an upcoming long weekend in Glastonbury. This was true, but none of the shots I took to match the theme really worked that well. When I saw this one, however, the match seemed to leap off the screen.

Oddly, Richard’s idea about the theme being interpreted any way we liked and without any restrictions also fitted well. Given that I have been playing around with Photoshop a lot over the last few weeks, the only thing I did with this shot was to straighten it a little. Stripped back and back to basics worked really well with this one!

Richard Guest:

Holstenwall, 2013

Holstenwall, 2013

After a few misfires, I decided to approach the theme literally and create another world. In a frenzy of craft activity, the model was constructed by myself and “Hannah” from stuff we found in our making things box, (and “Hannah” did all the mark-making).  As we built our town, we took test shots and it was those that convinced me the surroundings (our hall) should be a part of the picture. The figures are from street photographs taken in the last year or so (none of which have featured on TFIPM before). I love it that although our approaches are very different this time around, there is some kind of indefinable kinship between Richard’s image and my own. My title this time is a bit of a cheat – once I’d seen Richard had chosen a shot of a definite place – Glastonbury I decided my contribution had to have a fictional place name. Holstenwall is the name of the village in The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (1920) – if you haven’t seen it, put it on your list!

