– Under The Table With Her, 2014 –

There is a point on stage sometimes where you look out at the audience and say to yourself, “Why am I doing this?” (Memorably for me: singing to a largely unconvinced art-rock crowd whilst dressed in a potato sack stenciled with nonsensical slogans. And another time almost entirely hidden beneath a giant sombrero; the only part of me visible was my feet, which had stopped working due to stage fright). And the answer, in retrospect, is: for the promise of some money (of which there is rarely much, if any), and for the art. Ah, the art. 2014 is going to be for the art.

*

Under The Table With Her is the fifth track on Sparks’ 1975 album, Indiscreet. You can listen to it here.

*

Mark smiled. “Here I’m gossiping about him to you, and then at some point you’ll get him to tell you exactly what he thinks of me.”

“Oh, really,” I said.

“Yes. And I suppose he also meant that, for example, when we leave here tonight, you’ll be going on somewhere, but you’ll never say who else is invited – you’ll just contrive in an elegant fashion to make sure the people you don’t want to be there aren’t…And you’ll do it all without saying a word, or by saying something very oblique – some people will realize they have to fall away, and some people will just know they can come along.”

“Oh, really,” I said, letting the subject drop – I mean, you can’t gossip about yourself.

(extract from Popism by Andy Warhol and Pat Hackett, 1980)

