Street Portrait (for and of Vicky), 2014– Street Portrait (for and of Vicky), 2014 –

One day last week, I decided on a different approach. Instead of wandering the streets, I would choose a spot and stay there for half an hour in the hope that the interesting shots would come to me. And I nearly managed it – my itchy feet took me down a few side streets, but I mainly stuck to the bit of Neal Street outside Urban Outfitters. And I didn’t get a single shot until right near the end of the time, when I spotted Vicky. I really liked her style – like a lot of the people I photograph she seemed to inhabit her image – I got the impression I was seeing the real Vicky. And she was lovely about being photographed. This is the first of two shots, and my favourite. Thanks very much for stopping, Vicky! Hope you like your picture.

* * *

If you are at all interested in self-portraits, I strongly recommend you visit Strata of the Self.

* * *

