Street Portrait (for and of Peter), 2014– Street Portrait (for and of Peter), 2014 –

Peter was talking with a friend outside the Opera House when I spotted him. He was easily the most stylish man on the street and very kindly allowed me to take a few shots. This was the final one and my favourite. Thanks very much, Peter! Hope you like your picture.

*

Since May 2012, I have been asking strangers if I can take their photograph. I’m drawn to the stylish and the interesting – and all of the people here are one or the other or both. Thanks to Peter, Bernard, Craig, Francesca, Steve, Sophie, John, Sir Gideon, John, Neva, Leon, Lesley, Ariel, Rich, James,Mark, Charlie, Hiro, Vicky, Joshua, Amy, George, Cloud, Chris, Dave, Gus, Tziporah, Alex, Alberto, Andy and George,  and to everyone who has stopped for a portrait.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*

Street Portrait (for and of Bernard Butler), 2014

– Street Portrait (for and of Bernard Butler), 2014 –

Bernard Butler is an amazing talent. He became famous as one half of the songwriting team (with Brett Anderson), behind the early (and best incarnation of) Suede. There were all kinds of comparisons at the time with other famous songwriting duos, but his incendiary, incisive guitar style was something completely new and exciting. When it underpinned Anderson’s singing the combination was both strangely nostalgic and bracingly forward-looking. While Bernard was in the band, Suede released two stunning albums (Suede (1993) and Dog Man Star (1994)) and one of my favourite singles of the nineties, Stay Together. Bernard left the band in 1994. Since leaving Suede, Bernard has collaborated with David McAlmont in McAlmont and Butler, (releasing two stunning singles, Yes and You Do and two albums), released two solo albums, People Move On (1998) and Friends and Lovers (1999). And in 2004, worked with Brett Anderson again in The Tears. This was one of two shots taken on Seven Dials. Thanks very much for stopping Bernard. Hope you like your picture.

*

Street Portrait (for and of Craig West), 2014– Street Portrait (for and of Craig West), 2014 –

Craig was walking along Great Queen Street when I lunged out of the shadows at him and asked for a portrait. I loved his hat and his great smile. Craig, fortunately, said yes. Thanks very much, Craig! Hope you like your picture.

*

Street Portrait (for and of Francesca), 2014– Street Portrait (for and of Francesca), 2014 –

OK, confession time – this was the second time I took a portrait of Francesca – the first was only a month or so ago and I didn’t recognise her until I was walking away. Her look this time was so different. To be fair, I don’t think she recognised me either. Both portraits of Francesca are featured in the slide show above and the gallery below. Anyway, apologies and thanks, Francesca! Hope you like your picture.

*

Street Portrait (for and of Steve), 2014– Street Portrait (for and of Steve), 2014 –

Steve rescued a long and otherwise fruitless photographic odyssey to Mayfair for me. I loved his look. I’m afraid I can’t remember whereabouts this was taken, but it was outside a gallery. Thanks very much for letting me take the shot, Steve! Hope you like your picture.

*

*

If you want to find out a little more about these fine people, a quick search of TFIPM by the person’s name should bring up the original post. The previous street portrait round-up (July to December 2013), can be found here, and the one before that (March to July 2013), can be found here. This post is dedicated to George Skeggs, my first street portraitee – without him there would have been no beginning…

* * *

If you are interested in self-portraits, I recommend you visit Strata of the Self. It’s beautiful.

* * *

